Skip to content

The last few weeks…..

Tuesday, June 17, 2008

Ahhh, apologies for the absence and lack of posting…..things have been rather busy. Lots of things happening, some happiness, some sadness and I guess, more than one or two moments to make me treasure the little ones in our lives. Lately, it has becoming increasingly apparent that it is just so ,so important to just revel and love even the lousy moments, if you know what I mean. If you really think about it, you are truly blessed. I know we are.

Anyway, the little things that have happening- Ruby has yet another cold and a middle ear infection. Poor duck. I really love Winter for all its ill health and rampant bugs. Our kids keep getting sick! Which really gets me because we eat and live rather healthily, yet still……. I’m taking extra actions to strengthen their immune systems now. Pity we have to be so frugal these days or I would race them off to the naturopath. Meh, what can you do?

Days have been spent baking, hanging out at playgroups (let me tell you, the Coolum Baptist church playgroup goes off !)crafting, playing, going to the park, reading books, letting cups of tea go cold, meal planning, going to the dentist, gardening, hoola hooping, dancing and the like. The odd bit of  paid work.The weather has been magnificent with beautiful sunny winter days and cold nights (by Queensland’s standards!).

Leo is 11 weeks now and has really chunked up. There’s been lots of smiling, cooing, yelling, slinging (of course) and eating in that department. It feels so good to know whilst those early newborn times are fleeting and so very sweet, we are through some of the hardest weeks. The first three months are a trying time.

John is working with some wonderful musicians for a big concert out at the Pomona theatre on July 18th so he’s been getting creative with those folk lately and doing a little bit of work at that big supermarket giant. Not to mention being the most splendid Papa as usual.

Apart from being sick, Ruby is Ruby. Full of fire and energy. Vivacious and crazy most of the time….but utterly the sweetest sweet girl. Very much her own person now. So there’s been lots of frenzied, late night conversations between John and I, as to what the heck we do about this kid (!) and whether our parenting methods are failing miserably. Really though, she’s just Ruby, she’s 3 and she keeps us completely on our toes.

I’ve obviously been doing the mama thing like crazy and have come to absolutely treasure my shower (the ones on my own that is)in the morning (a refuge from crying and screaming and questions – “What are you doing Mummy? What are you doing Mummy? What are you doing Mummy?“). I’ve had the most wonderful catch ups with a few people and that has been really wonderful. I’m still having a hard time in my own head as to how to balance mamahood, working and what not. I’m not sure I want to go back to work……but what does one do for money? So that’s pretty much it, apart from keeping my eye out for lovely gold shoes (can anyone say, BRIDESMAID!!!?? I mean that in a very excited way.)

Of course, here are a few pics…….

So I’ll sign off as my gorgeous girl hands me some purple flowering weeds, beaming with pride and leave you with a quote that seems to come right my way whenever it seems needed. Our love goes out to those ones going through the hardest of hard times right now. xxx

Let us rise up and be thankful, for if we didn’t learn a lot today, at least we learned a little, and if we didn’t learn a little, at least we didn’t get sick, and if we got sick, at least we didn’t die; so, let us all be thankful.
Buddha

One Comment leave one →
  1. Wednesday, June 18, 2008 11:56p06

    Gorgeous pics. You can’t half tell those two are related! What cute squishy lil noses they have! *kiss kiss*

Leave a Reply

