Skip to content

On your bike

Saturday, October 18, 2008

So here at our place we’re very into reducing our impact on the earth. In this last year we’ve been trying to use the car as little as possible, which not only makes our footprint on this precious planet a little lighter but also saves us the dollars in petrol.

John rides his bike and has a seat in the back for Ruby but now we have Leo, I have been thinking about ways we can all get around without using the car, as I don’t have a bike. I had been lusting after those great old style vintage cruisers and what have you but it’s really just about the looks rather than function.

I thought about those trailer things which you attach to the back of your bike but they only take about 40kgs or so and I would like to be able to get groceries, go to the library and such so that won’t work, particularly if one of us wants to take both kids somewhere (not using the pram). Basically we need a bike that takes 2 kids, books, vegies and the like.

I started investigating and came upon those awesome Bakfiets. That’s it! (**I’ve since been informed they’re Danish!!!Thanks Peter!**)That’s the answer to this problem and now I am utterly swooning over these beautiful Christiania bikes. Gush, gush, gush!!!

Oh they’re so wonderful!!! I first saw a bike like this on the ABC’s Carbon Cops and it was pretty darn cool.

Now if we could get one of these as a second vehicle we could do away with the car for most trips and take Ruby and Leo on travels around town in the most environmentally friendly way!!! Pure pedal power!

psbikes are the folks who bring these beauties to Australia. Check out the gallery pics of biking families! Fantastic!

So, at a measly $3000, it’s time to start saving, saving, saving. I reckon it would work out pretty thrifty really considering we only have 1 car in our family and it would end up being cheaper in the long run. Now this purchase would be a rather lovely contribution to boost the economy! *snort*

Bikes! The way of the future!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Saturday, October 18, 2008 11:56p10

    Ooohhh I’ve been eyeing these off too, but I’m a little concerned tha Hobart’s hills are a bit much for little ole me with two kidlets up front… Test ride maybe? *scratches head*

    I’m loving your posts, E. 🙂

  2. Peter permalink
    Saturday, October 18, 2008 11:56p10

    They are not Dutch but Danish….

  3. sneetchgirl permalink*
    Saturday, October 18, 2008 11:56p10

    Thanks Peter!Gotta get that info right!……and thanks Blossomtime!

    We are a bit hilly here too, so I’m not sure. I imagine I’d have the same problems with towing one of those trailer things as well so we’ll see.One can certainly dream!

Trackbacks

  1. Weekly roundup (20/10/08) : bakfiets.co.uk

Leave a Reply

