Skip to content

A moment of quiet

Sunday, November 23, 2008

John’s taken the kids to the park. All is quiet in the house which is indeed, strange. I thought I’d write a quick uninterrupted blog, though not much has been happening in the past week (apart from all that crazy rain!!!) although yesterday morning was a blast!

We awoke to a normal day, John was getting ready for work when I jumped out of the shower only to spy the most angry, scary looking rash all over Leo’s tummy, back and thighs. Now, I don’t think I panic that easily, but this looked pretty nasty. All red and pin-prick like. He’d been a bit restless in the night so I guess, we got rather worried. After a couple of phonecalls, we find ourselves in Nambour General Hospital’s emergency department with two doctors checking over our wee babe. Sigh. So many questions, from vaccinations (*rolls eyes*) to our washing powder of choice. Anyway, after some umming and ahhing and that stupid press-a-glass-to-the-skin test, it was deemed to be some sort of allergic reaction. We’re thinking  it was a grass/vegetation related thing as he spent a good deal of time lying around outside the day before. Anyway, not meningococcal. Phew.

I felt like a bit of idiot later as I really am not one to offer my family, nor myself, up to the medical profession so easily but I really didn’t want to mess around with such a frightful looking rash and he is just a baby, so……………….

Leo’s skin is much better now without the use of any crummy steroid cream, thanks very much.

So, that’s about it for now. Over and out.

xx

One Comment leave one →
  1. Monday, December 8, 2008 11:56p12

    Interesting Read! Very detailed blog,thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

