Skip to content

Dreaming

Sunday, June 21, 2009

Another long absence I know, but we’ve been plagued by colds and flus and what have you, for weeks now. Just as the kids start to get back to their old selves, I come down with it. As I’m in the fog of a really horrible bout and I feel like all I can do is knit and cough, I’ll keeps this short!

A couple of weeks ago we had a brilliant camp out at The Dreaming Festival, which is Australia’s finest Indigenous Culture/Arts/Music festival held at Woodford on the Sunshine Coast. It was everything a grand festival is- overwhelming, chaotic, peaceful, frustrating, cold, inspiring, stimulating…..

I really get a lot of joy from taking our kids to festivals. It’s very hard work. There is usually a lot of wingeing, crying and laughter (mostly from me 😉 ) but it’s so very worth it. It’s so eye opening for them and this one was a brilliant insight into indigenous cultures which I think we can all get a little more of.

My highlights were watching the amazing singing and dancing at Dancestry and soaking up the beauty and art of  the Tjampi Desert Weavers. I managed to do a basket weaving workshop with the women and it was brilliant in so many ways.

For now, the needles and yarn beckon so I’ll leave you…..

DSCF6523

DSCF6526

DSCF6528

DSCF6541

DSCF6546

One Comment leave one →
  1. Sunday, June 21, 2009 11:56p06

    Wow! L is his mama shrunk! So beautiful!!!!

Leave a Reply

